Macfarlane Regatta is 4th of July Tradition at Outrigger

By Allene Richardson



This was the winning women's crew in the 1943 Macfarlane Regatta. Bob Fischer, left, steered them. We only have the last names of the gals. If you know their first names, please let us know — Ross, Hayes, Marcia Bowers, Morris and Robinson.

It was 1943—the war was still going on in the Pacific and Europe. In Hawaii there was a light off-shore breeze at Waikiki Beach. It was glassy, with small groups of surfers.

The barbed wire was up on the beach in front of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel and the Moana. The inaugural 4th of July Macfarlane Regatta was getting underway.

The 48th annual Walter J. Macfarlane is again scheduled for the 4th of July. It is the only waverace in the Oahu Hawaiian Canoe Racing Association schedule and commemorates Walter James "Mac" Macfarlane, president of the Outrigger Canoe Club at the time of his death in 1943.

At that time, the OCC sponsored a race on the 4th of July. Following Macfarlane's death, Henry DeGorog, manager of OCC suggested that this picturesque canoe activity be dedicated to Walter Mac and be known thereafter as the Walter J. Macfarlane Memorial Canoe Race.

The original race featured 13 events with the premiere event of the regatta, as always, the Senior Men's race. The early course was 4 1/2 miles and OCC dominated at this distance.

The first winning crew was Thad Ekstrand, John Beaumont, Tom Arnott, Jim Fernie, Bob Bush and steersman Duke Kahanamoku.

The Senior Men's perpetual trophy, a

Silver Bowl, was donated by the Royal Hawaiian Hotel's division of Matson Navigation Company in memory of Walter

The winning club Koa Wave Trophy was donated by Macfarlane's sister, Muriel Flanders in 1972.

This year promises spectacular weather, blue skies, the thrill of big waves, packed beaches and exciting unpredictable events. Don't miss it. Races get underway at 8:30 a.m.

New Members

Regular: Richard Humphreys, James Kincaid, Joan Kirley, Nora Meijide, Donald Monroe.

Intermediate: Lynn Ching.

Associate: Mary Alexander, Carrie Cavanah, Noelle D'Enbeau, Brandon Flores, Dianne Lee, Garrett Welch.

Junior: Kimberly Alden, Laura Alden, Kimberly Allin, Chantal Carroll, Kevin Crabb, Michael Lambert, Byron Schubert.

Nonresident: Andre Haeringer, Lacy Herrmann, Leif Odmark, Blair Reilly.

Special: Nai'a Blankenfeld, Daniel Chong, Laya Clark, Jon Haruguchi, Walea Kalama, Charles Mattson, Allen Pang, David Wong, Kevin Wong.

