OCC WINS WALTER MACFARLANE RACES

The Outrigger Canoe Club won the annual Fourth of July Walter Macfarlane Memorial canoe racing regatta, July 4th, at Waikiki before thousands of spectators.

Winning four first places, a second place, and two third places, the OCC crews scored 25 points to edge out the Waikiki Surf Club with 21 points. Hui Nalu scored 14 points, Koolaupoko seven, and Hui Kalia four.

The men's senior six event over three miles was won by the Waikiki Surf Club in 28 minutes 34.4 seconds.

The Outrigger Canoe Club won the one mile senior four men in 10 minutes 46.2 seconds. Hui Nalu second in 11:33. Waikiki Surf was third and Hui Kalia

The winning crew was W. Ackerman, R. Anderson, J. Pflueger, and C. Martin. Waikiki Surf Club was the winner in the women's senior six in 11 minutes 41 seconds. The race was over one mile. OCC second, Hui Kalia third.

Waikiki Surf won the girls' novice race when the other clubs could not enter crews. In the boys under 13 event over a quarter mile, Waikiki Surf was the winner in 1 minute 7 seconds. Outrigger second, when Hui Kalia was disqualified.

The freshmen six over one mile, Outrigger winner, Waikiki Surf second, Koolaupoko third, Hui Nalu fourth. The time was 11 minutes 21 seconds.

Hui Nalu won the half-mile novice boys' race in 12 minutes 55 seconds. Waikiki Surf Club was disqualified. Koolaupoko's boat was swamped at the halfway

The junior six men event, won by Hui Nalu in 22 minutes 38 seconds, with Waikiki Surf second, OCC third, and Koolaupoko fourth.

With two disqualifications the women's junior six event went to Koolaupoko in 14 minutes 38 seconds. Hui Nalu finished first, but was disqualified for cutting in front of another boat, while third place OCC was disqualified for finishing in the wrong lane.

In the boys under 17 event, OCC was victorious in 11 minutes 37 seconds. The race was over one mile.

Outrigger won the men's junior four in 11 minutes 50 seconds. Waikiki Surf, second in 12:14. Results:

Girls' Novice Race-Waikiki Surf Club won by de-

ault.
Boys under 13 (quarter mile)—Won by Waikiki Surf Club (Bully Silva, Joe Meyer, Glen Jenara, Joe Cobble, Tracy Lewis, Allen Gomes); second, Outrigger Canoe Club. Time, 1 min. 7 sec.
Freshmen Six (one mile)—Won by Outrigger (A. Lemes, H. DeHarne, J. Pell, J. Russell, R. Vierra, C. Schrader); second, Waikiki Surf Club; third, Koolaupoko; fourth, Hui Nalu. Time, 11 min. 21 sec.
Novice Boys (half-mile)—Won by Hui Nalu (C. Kondo, Henry Stone, Stewart Ho, Johnny Apo, Gordon Naehu, Ed Kaanaana). Time, 12 min. 55 sec.
Junior Six Men (2 miles)—Won by Hui Nalu (Dan Aki, Donald Fowler, Mike Stroup, Robert Kauaihilo, Harry Johnson, Eugene Kaupiko); second, Waikiki Surf Club; third, Outrigger; fourth, Koolaupoko. Time, 22 min. 38 sec.
Junior Six Women (one mile)—Won by Koolaupoko

min. 38 sec.

Junior Six Women (one mile)—Won by Koolaupoko (Alex Torres, Pat Toguchi, Betty Mae Freitas, Liz Kanae, Ornell McKeague, Lei Reid); second, Hui Kalia. Time, 14 min. 38 sec.

Boys 17 and under—Won by Outrigger (T. Fink, J. Burmeister, M. Mullahey, D. Caswell, C. Fischer, S. Kaaua); second, Hui Nalu; third, Waikiki Surf; fourth, Hui Kalia. Time, II min. 37 sec.
Senior Six Men (three miles)—Won by Waikiki Surf (G. Downing, M. Perkins, G. Young, H. Freitas, D. Kino, W. Froiseth); second, Hui Nalu; third, Outrigger; fourth, Hui Kalia. Time, 28 min. 34.4 sec.

Junior Four Men (one mile)—Won by Outrigger (J. Mattice, E. Bush, T. Haine, J. Cross); second, Waikiki Surf; third, Koolaupoko; fourth, Hui Nalu. Time, 11 min. 50 sec.

Women Senior Six (one mile)—Won by Waikiki Surf

Il min. 50 sec.

Women Senior Six (one mile)—Won by Waikiki Surf (Gildia Chang, Jake Kalama, Leiola Makaiwi, Carnation Bivins, L. Williams, Keanue Kekai); second, Outrigger; third, Hui Kalia. Time, Il min. 41 sec.

Men's Senior Four (one mile)—Won by Outrigger Canoe Club (W. Ackerman, R. Anderson, J. Pflueger, C. Martin); second, Hui Nalu; third, Waikiki Surf; fourth, Hui Kalia. Time, 10 min. 46.2 sec.

Malihini College Girls—Won by Charles Martin's canoe (Jo Ann Peterson, Southern California; Sharon Mulcahy, Nevada; Marylyn Hamilton, Mills; Sophie Gardner, UCLA; Homme, Southern California.

Ele Makuli (men over 40)—Won by Waikiki Surf Club; second, OCC-A; third, OCC-B.

Melva Johnson, one of our wahine VBallers, leaped too high and had a sprained ankle. The result was a weakened wahine team and maybe that helped them down to fifth place. She is OK now. Motto: "No more HIGHBALLS, Melva."

