

OUTRIGGER CANOE CLUB

HONOLULU, HAWAII



Senior Men: Tom Conners; Robert Guard; Marty Wilson; Mark Buck; Brant Ackerman; Jon Haneberg.

## Outrigger bows to Waikiki Surf by one point in hotly contested Macfarlane Day Regatta

**OCC Senior Men, Men's Freshmen** and Women's Sophomore Crews triumph

## As reported by Jerry Ober

The Thirtieth Annual Running of the Macfarlane Day Regatta at Waikiki Beach on July 4th brought out some of the hottest and closest competition of the current canoe racing season. When the finish line was crossed by Outrigger's winning Senior Six in the blue ribbon event of the day, the overall point score for the Regatta's 18 official events stood: Waikiki Surf Club, 44; Outrigger Canoe Club, 43; Healani Club. 40 (as reported by the Honolulu Advertiser). Closest to the leaders was Hui Nalu with 34 points.

Although our crews were nosed out "by an oarskin," as an Advertiser sports writer put it, the day was a good one for the Outrigger because of the spectacular come-back performance of the Senior Men's crew which won its event going away; the strong first place performances of the Men's Freshmen and Women's Sophomore

crews, and fine back-up showings of the Boys 8-12; Boys 13; Boys 14; Men A Novice; Boys 18; Women Freshmen; Men Sophomore; and Women Junior crews, all of whom scored valuable points for our Club.

Paddling for Outrigger in the Club's three first place crews were: Senior Men — Brant Ackerman, steersman; Mark Buck: Tom Conner; Jon Haneberg; Tim Guard, and Marty Wilson; Freshmen Men — Bruce Ames. steersman; Bobby Anderson; Tuck Siegfried; Jay Pease; Hugh Foster; and Doug Straehley; Sophomore Women - Niki Fovtich; Kristie Muller; Moira Sculley; Pam Crane; Nina Rodrigues, and Monte Costa (replaced for the race by Mike Lemes under the Regatta's "open steersman" rule).

In the traditional but unofficial Men's Open four man race following the regular events. Outrigger came in a close second to Waikiki Surf. The crew was composed of Marty Wilson. Tom Haine, Tommy Holmes and Fred Hemmings. Ir.

## **Perpetual Trophy for** Macfarlane Regatta Winner **Donated by Mrs. Macfarlane**

A new Perpetual Trophy to be awarded annually to the high point winner in the Walter J. Macfarlane Regatta was presented to the Club as sponsor of the Regatta by Mrs. Walter J. Macfarlane at a small reception held in her honor on Sunday, July 2nd.

The Directors had earlier commissioned sculptor David Tompkins of Los Angeles and Club Member Jerry Ober to design such a trophy. Working from photographs supplied by Tommy Holmes, the designers produced a trophy of laminated koa wood shaped to form a huge wave on which a finely sculptured solid silver racing canoe is superimposed.



The Walter J. Macfarlane Regatta, held off Waikiki Beach each Fourth of July, was instituted in 1942 as a memorial to the late Walter J. Macfarlane, a relative of Charter Member H. R. Macfarlane, Jr., who was elected to the Club presidency in 1939 and led the organization through a troubled period into a new clubhouse on Kalakaua Avenue and a new era in the Club's history.