Women's Distance Racing

By Genie Kincaid







The *Kakina* crew: Diana Allen, Kim Darling, Lisa Livingston, Linda Fernandez, Anella Borges, Laurie Lawson, Julia Fiedler, Hilary Denison, Kristin Lee, Gabi Kane. Photo by Laurie Lawson





OCC Red raced for the finish: Malia Kamisugi, Angie Giancaterino, Jane Stevens, Traci Phillips, Donna Kahakui, and Jaimie Kinard.

OCC paddlers relax after the big race: Diane Esecson, Linda Fernandez, Kisi Haine, Gabi Kane, Kim Darling, Tana Feeley, Flo Gacutan and daughter Pono, Kiki Fordham, Anna Grune, and Shawn Moynahan. Photo by Julia Fiedler.

On September 26, Team Bradley claimed its sixth consecutive Na Wahine O Ke Kai championship, the 41-mile women's outrigger canoe paddling race from Molokai to Oahu. They have now tied Offshore Canoe Club of Newport Beach, California for most consecutive victories, and still hold the course record of 5:22:05 set in 2008.

Team Bradley battled back to catch, pass, and hold off Waikiki Beach Girls to claim the 32nd annual event considered the world championship of outrigger canoe paddling. This year's race included 85 crews representing Hawaii, California, Tahiti, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

For most of the race, the Kaiwi Channel was sloppy and racing was made more difficult due to the lack of ocean swells that usually help push crews toward Oahu, and an outgoing tide.

But Team Bradley, which is comprised of elite paddlers from Kauai, Oahu, Maui and the Big Island who train separately and rarely train together in six-man canoes, was able to catch Beach Girls off Hawaii Kai, and open up a gap between Maunalua Bay and Diamond Head.

Team Bradley won by nearly three minutes, finishing in 5:54.13. Beach Girls finished second again in 5:57.12, while Surfer's Paradise of Australia finished third in 6:03:49.

Although Outrigger's first crew finished eighth overall in 6:12:42, the crew took heart in the face of very tough international competition, and even had fun along the way. OCC's second crew raced *Kakina* to victory in the Koa Division, and finished an impressive 20th overall in a time of 6:38.53. OCC's third crew, which was largely a novice effort, toughed out the day and finished in 7:08.25.

So another season of outrigger canoe racing ends for the women but not without fond aloha and mahalo for the many supporters who made racing for the Club possible. A heartfelt mahalo to our re-

doubtable coaches, John Puakea and Liz Perry; all the hoe wa'a men from the open and masters crews; the staff and management of the Club; and last but not least, our fellow Club members who allow the wahine to do best what our Club name suggests. See you in 2011!!

OCC's crews were:

Outrigger Red: Mary Smolenski, Traci Phillips, Donna Kahakui, Malia Kamisugi-Pietsch, Angie Giancaterino, Marissa Wriston, Jane Stevens, Karin Del Rey, Jaimie Kinard, Paula Crabb.

Outrigger White (Kakina crew): Kim Darling, Laurie Lawson, Diana Allen, Julia Fiedler, Anella Borges, Hilary Denison, Lisa Livingston, Gabriela Kane, Linda Fernandez, Kristin Lee.

Outrigger Blue: Linda Nelson, Anna Grune, Kiki Fordham, Stephanie DeWeese, Flo Gacutan, Tana Feeling, Diane Esecson, Jen Lyon, Shawn Moynahan, Kisi Haine.