OCC WOMEN MASTERS 4TH IN 2008 MOLOKAI

By Genie Kincaid and Sarah Field

OCC Masters
Front: Nicole Pederson,
Mary Smolenski, Karin Del
Rey. Back: Kisi Haine,
Megan Jones, Donna
Kahakui, Paula Crabb, Traci
Phillips, Jen Horner, Lisa
Livingston (Not Pictured:
Coach Wyatt Jones).



The 30th Annual Na Wahine O Ke Kai Molokai to Oahu Championship Canoe Race was held September 28. The Outrigger Canoe Club wahine hoe wa'a weathered challenges natural and unnatural, and fielded two crews for the 41 mile race in the Club's centennial year.

With no wind, no swell, and a rising but unhelpful tide, it was a straight shot from Molokai to the finish in Waikiki. Outrigger's Masters (40 years and older) in the new fiberglass canoe *Kai Liolio* placed an impressive fourth overall of 67 crews with a time of 5:34:43, the fastest ever for a crew in that division.

Kisi Haine, who steered the crew, enthused, "We were hoping for top 10 and we got fourth, so that's a good day. We're definitely satisfied with this," she said.

Led by affable Masters Coach Wyatt Jones, the crew also included Paula Crabb, Karin Del Rey, Jenni Horner, Megan Jones, Donna Kahakui, Lisa Livingston, Nicole Pedersen, Traci Phillips and Mary Smolenski.

"It was all them. I was just trying to make sure I didn't blow it with some stupid decision. They did great – I was really happy," Jones said after the race.

The Open crew raced the *Kakina* and finished third in the Koa division, with a time of 6:04:12, good for 24th overall. Many of the girls in this crew were novices, so this was a terrific accomplishment for them.

By racing in the Kakina, Lindsay Chang, Hilary Denison, Julia Fiedler, Sarah Field, Cathi Goldsmith, Pam Jenkins, Mary Ann Kawakami, Tiare Salassa, and Lindsay Wessberg perpetuated Outrigger's commitment to the tradition of racing koa canoes in the channel. This young and eager crew was led by Open Coach Ian Forester.

The canoe racing season began for the *wahine* in an aberrant miasma that resulted in divergent programs and schedules. Many devoted OCC paddlers ended up racing for other clubs. But always and to the end, all those members who raced Molokai this year endured

and supported each other regardless of club or crew.

Mahalo nui loa to Mike Ako and his wonderful staff and management, the Board of Directors, and our fellow members here and away for their support all summer long. To Todd Sandvold and Evan Rhodes, sincere appreciation for assisting the women across the channel with able boat escort. And a sincere and heartfelt mahalo to the great men of the Outrigger Canoe Club – all of Coaches John Puakea's open men, Walter Guild's Masters men, and Bill Johnson's Senior Masters men – endless thanks to each of you for your strength and encouragement. Best of luck in your Molokai crossing!

Being part of and racing for Outrigger Canoe Club enables its paddlers to enjoy the tradition of Hawaiian culture through outrigger canoe racing, and even the simple pleasure of sportsmanship and camaraderie. This has been a trying season, but a new season awaits.

As Mary Smolenski observed, "Every year, there are new friendships made, old friendships renewed, and experiences that create wonderful memories for our lives. This year, two beautiful dolphins played in front of our escort boat, one rolling on its side to look up at us, before swimming away! Thank you, Outrigger, for the privilege of representing you across the Molokai channel all these years!"

PADDLE TICKER

Team Bradley won in 5:22:05 for the fourth consecutive year, erasing by seven seconds the previous record set by Australia's Mooloolaba in 2004. Hui Lanakila, which won the pre-season races, finished second. Veteran OCC paddler and steerswoman, Malia Kamisugi, stroked for the Hui Lanakila crew.

Kailua placed 17th overall, and set a record in the Senior Masters (50 years and older) division with a time of 5:56:22. It was OCC veteran, Genie Kincaid's, first

Page 6 November 2008

CANOE RACING





Genie Kincaid, far right, was on the winning 50s crew for Kailua Canoe Club. Other members of the winning crew were Patti Eames, Lois Wise, Penny Martin, Carleen Ornellas, Vanessa Weiss, Bev Tuaolo, Crystal Egusa and Terry Malterre.

Open Crew

Front: Anella Borges. 2nd row: Lindsay Chang, Lindsay Wessberg, Cathi Goldstein, Mary Ann Kawakami, Hilary Denison, Coach Ian Forester. 3rd row: Pam Jenkins, Julia Fiedler, Tiare Salassa, Sarah Field and Jean Cullinan.

race with a club other than Outrigger in 22 years. Her crew beat Kahiau/HK, which had a streak of four consecutive senior masters victories, by six minutes. Racing for Kahiau/HK were Kincaid's fellow OCC veterans, Laurie Lawson and Katy Bourne.

Keala Kilcoyne and Paahana Kincaid gained experience racing with new friends in Hui Lanakila's third crew, finishing 31st overall. Jean Cullinan completed her first crossing ever with Kailua's second crew, finishing 35th overall.