OCC Women Win Koa in Na Wahine O Ke Kai



Outrigger's women finish a change during the Na Wahine race. They won the koa division in the Kakina. Winning the Koa Division were, front, Katy Bourne, Paula Crabb, Kisi Haine, Jennifer Thayer, Malia Kamisugi, Kelsey Buell, Mary Smolenski, Lisa Livingston, and Jenni Horner. Back, race sponsor Mike Fox, and Karin Hansen.





Bret Chuckovich coached the women's Molokai crew and was in the men's first crew.

Walter Guild is congratulated after his crew won the Masters 35 division.

Men's Coach Kala Judd and Lisa Livingston

Courtney Seto is greeted at the finish line.



"Increase profits through remote access surveillance. Our cutting edge technology lets you view multiple sites from your computer, reducing loss/liability and raising productivity."

Don Mueller- CEO

Contractor's License # C-22986 tel 738.5959 fax 738.5955 email don@svshawaii.com web www.svshawaii.com

SecureView Systems LLC

Commercial/Residential - Consultation - Engineer - Design - Installation Video Surveillance - Access Control - Telephone - Burglar/Fire Monitoring - Anti-shoplifting/tagging system - Home Automation

By Genie Kincaid

The 24th annual women's Molokai to Oahu race was held September 29. This 41-mile race from Hale O Lono Harbor, Molokai, to Duke Kahanamoku Beach, Waikiki, is regarded as the women's world championship of long-distance outrigger canoe racing.

Fifty-four crews finished the race with Kai Opua of Kailua-Kona winning in a time of 5:52:55. Kai Opua is the only Hawaii-based canoe club to have won three consecutive championships. Runner-up Team Eyecatcher finished in a time of 5:55:36. Finishing third at 5:57:38 was Australian national champion, Mooloolaba.

Outrigger Canoe Club entered a single crew this year, finished fourth overall, and won the Koa Division in a time of 6:01:20. The crew took pride in paddling the *Kakina* which Outrigger's women used to win the Na Wahine O Ke Kai in 1981.

Although the canoe was renovated last year and is not the same as it was 20 some years ago, the *Kakina* has lost none of its singular beauty nor a revered spiritual connection to the Club and its past. The crew dedicated their effort to Henry Ayau and honored the memory of Tom "Daddy" Haine.

Conditions for most of the race were tough. An outgoing tide, combined with 4-8 foot swells, and tradewinds predominantly blowing at the paddlers' backs, created choppy seas as crews battled their way across the channel. About the only parts of the race a surf-happy crew like Outrigger's had fun was from the start to Laau Point (the west end of Molokai), and from Maunalua Bay (east Honolulu) to the finish. The winning time was more than 28 minutes short of the record.

But the crew of Katy Bourne, Kelsey Buell, Paula Crabb, Kisi Haine, Karin Hansen, Jenni Horner, Malia Kamisugi, Lisa Livingston, Mary Smolenski, and Jennifer Thayer were up to the challenge and hope to build on its success next year.

A heartfelt mahalo to the Outrigger Canoe Club ohana for its unwavering support of the women's program, and for making it possible for the paddlers to compete at the highest of levels.