OCC Spikers Shine at National Championships

By Peter Ehrman

Three Outrigger Canoe Club men's volleyball teams journeyed to Tucson, Arizona to compete in the 1998 U.S. Volleyball Association National Championships, May 23 through 30. The three teams represented OCC in the 30 and over, 35 and over, and 40 and over age divisions.

All three teams enjoyed the high level of success that has become standard for Outrigger volleyball teams competing at the national level.

This year's contingent was led by OCC's 30 and over team, which brought home the national championship in dominating fashion. Behind the masterful setting of Doug Rigg and the powerful hitting of Marc Haine and Adam Lockwood, the 30s defeated L.A. Film Company of Los Angeles in the championship final by scores of 15-11, 15-8.

For his fine all-around play, Lockwood was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. Rigg and Haine were named to the All-Tournament team. Other members of the 30 and over championship team were John

McDermott, Chris

Siegfried, Leon Devaney and Todd Harrison.

OCC's 40 and over team finished second in the tournament, losing to San Diego Volleyball Club in a heart stopping sudden death final, 15-13. Early in the championship match, Outrigger's starting setter, Charlie Jenkins, tore a calf muscle and was unable to continue play. Chris Crabb, Ralph Smith and Jay Anderson rallied the team to a near victory under very adverse circumstances.

Smith and Anderson were named to the All-Tournament team and Crabb, at age 51, was named Most Outstanding Player. Crabb may be, at his age level, the finest volleyball player in the country. Other members of the runner-up 40 and over team were Jon Andersen, Jon Stanley, T.C. Gray and Bill Lawson.

Outrigger's 35 and over team finished fourth in a highly competitive field. The highlight of their tournament was defeating Brazil in an early playoff round. This was the same Brazil team that had defeated OCC in two of the last three 35 and over championship finals.

Members of the 35s were Jon Andersen, Marc Haine, Tom Harrer, Jimmy Kalaukoa, Tim Walston, Ralph Smith, T. C. Gray, Jon Stanley, Bill Lawson, Alan Lau and Coach Dennis Berg.

Congratulations and mahalo to OCC's 1998 men's volleyball teams for continuing and strengthening Outrigger Canoe Club's tradition of success in USVBA volleyball.