Outrigger Masters Win National Titles for 4th Year

t the United States Volleyball Association National Championships held in Tulsa, Oklahoma, May 28 through June 4, the Outrigger Canoe Club Men's 35 and over and the Men's 40 and over both won the Gold Medal for the fourth year in a row.

No teams have dominated their divisions so thoroughly in the history of the championships.

Men's 40+

The 40 and over played earlier in the week and set the tone for the other teams. In pool play, the 40s did not lose a game, won their pool easily and did not allow a team to score more than nine points against them.

This record earned them the number one seed for the double elimination round. They went through this portion of the tournament undefeated, again not losing a single game, nor allowing a team to score more than 10 points.

In the finals, the 40s beat Team Roof of Villa Hills, Kentucky by the score of 15-8, 15-7.

Jon Stanley was named the Most Valuable Player.

Earning All-American honors were Jon Stanley, Chris Crabb, and Charlie Jenkins, first team; Randy Shaw and Mike Cote, second team; and Tom Madison, third team. Other members playing on the 40 and over were Jim Bukes, Buster Chapman and Tony Crabb. Kimo Brown was the coach.

Men's 35+

The Men's 35 and over earned their victory a little differently. They won the pool play with a 5-0 record, also not losing a single game. This earned them the first seed in the Gold division of the double elimination portion of the tournament. However, they lost in the semi-finals of the winner's bracket to Team Roof of Kentucky.

They were able to advance through the loser's bracket defeating three teams to reach the finals. They beat VB Rags of San Diego in two games forcing a sudden death playoff. They won 15-11 to capture the gold medal.

Kimo Brown was named Most Valuable Player.

Earning All-American honors were Kimo Brown, Jon Andersen and Chris Crabb, first team; Scott Rigg and Jon Stanley, second team. Other members of the squad were Alan Lau, Kahea Chock, Ralph Smith, Charlie Jenkins

> The winning 35 and over team included, front, Chris Crabb, Kimo Brown, Alan Lau and Charlie Jenkins; Ralph Smith, John Zabriskie, Kahea Chock, Scott Rigg, Jon Andersen and



Kimo Brown was named Most Valuable Player for the Men's 35s.

and John Zabriskie. Randy Shaw was the coach.

Men's Open

The Men's Open team had one of the best showings in recent years. Twenty- two teams participated and the OCC finished 3-1 in pool play advancing into the second round of pool play.

They were able to earn a berth in the Gold division of the double elimination tournament and finished fifth overall.

One of the biggest wins was beating the 1992 champion, Creole. The team kept improving match by match and coaches Tony Crabb and Randy Shaw were motivating the players well.

Playing on the team were Marc Haine, Stevie Li, Alika Williams, Tony McInerny, Sean Scott, Brad Stewart, Darryn Holt and Danny McInerny.

Stevie Li was a third team All-American Honorable mention and a first team Rookie award winner.

The team looks to a successful 1995 when the championship will be played in Holyoke, Mass. for the 100th anniversary marking the creation of volleyball as a sport. Ø

Not pictured: Sean Scott.