Hoe Wa'a Mau OCC Solo Canoe/Kayak Race

By David "Chuck" Fan





Hoe Wa`a Mau OCC Solo Canoe/Kayak Race March 21, 2010

Pla	ice Name	Division	
1	Karel Tresnak Jr.*	Open 18-39 OC1	Time
2	Aaron Napoleon	Master 40-49 OC-1	53:17
3	Angie Giancaterin*/Patrick Dolan	Open OC-2	53:43
4	John Hoogsteden	Sr. Master 50-59 Surfski	55:57
5	Ed Joy	Master 40-49 Surfski	56:17
6	Raven Aipa		56:31
7	Kala Judd*	Master 40-49 OC-1	57:10
8	Bill Meheulasr	Sr. Master 50-59 Surfski	58:52
9	Gavin Hanoa	Master 50-59 Surfski	1:00:43
10	Steve Cole	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:00:52
11	Deane Salter*	Sr. Master 50-59 OC1	1:02:33
12	Derek Ruebenstahl	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:02:47
13	Andy Cummings	Jr. 17& Under OC-1	1:03:27
14	Will Gacutan*/Malia Gacutan*	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:03:49
15	Ray Connelly	Open Surfski-2	1:03:57
16	John Wacker*	Master 40-49 Surfski	1:04:33
17	Katie Slocumb/Ken Bailey*	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:04:38
18	Michele Arnold/Sarah Vandevanter	Open OC-2	1:04:52
19	Blane Chong	Open OC-2	1:05:00
20	Adam Roversi	Sr. Master 50-59 Surfski	1:05:04
21	Albert Alderton/Michael Schwinn*	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:05:53
22	Charles Brand	Open OC-2	1:06:14
23	Gaylord Wilcox*	Master 40-49 Surfski	1:06:41
24	Anna Mathisen	Kapuna 60+ OC-1	1:06:49
25	Eulogio Mangasar	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:09:02
26	Indar Lange	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:10:05
27	David Forsyth	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:10:41
28	Scott Larue*	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:11:05
29	Tavita Maea	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:11:22
30		Open 18-39 OC-1	1:11:40
31	Anella Borges*/Shawn Lepine Chelsea Bizik	Open OC-2	1:11:52
32	Michael Chimienti	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:12:53
33	Bobby Hastings*	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:13:58
34	Eric Nicol	Master 40-49 OC-1	1:15:21
35	Jackie Graessle	Open 18-39 OC-1	1:17:24
36	Ward Graessle	Sr. Master 50-59 OC-1	1:33:24
	Traid diaessie	Sr. Master 50-59 OC-1	1:33:29
*000	mambar		

^{*}OCC member

FAR LEFT: Kala Judd navigates the rough ocean.

LEFT: Will and Malia Gacutan competed in the two-man.

The OC1/Kayak committee hosted the Hoe Wa`a Mau race for solo canoes and kayaks on March 21. About a week before the race, winds were expected from the east northeast about 10-15 mph, perfect conditions for a fun and competitive race from Hawaii Kai to Kaimana Beach. We were expecting 70-100 paddlers from juniors through Golden Masters on OC1, OC2, SS1, and SS2.

What we didn't expect was an out of season south swell with 3-5 foot faces predicted. As the swell began to build over the weekend and on the morning of the race, our race director, Kala Judd, carefully assessed the conditions with Club Captain Mike Kane, Beach Captain Don Isaacs and Rob Durkin, OC1/Kayak Committee Chair.

At about 7 a.m., the race organizers convened to assess the surf which was averaging about 2-5 foot faces. At that time, they decided the finish line would be moved from Kaimana Beach to a buoy set outside of the surf line in front of the Club. The start of the race was also moved outside the channel in Hawaii Kai.

These changes were explained to the 44 paddlers who signed up for the race at a detailed pre-race meeting. The finish line wasn't the only change that morning, the surf also changed early in the morning. The rise in the surf made paddling out through the Maunalua Bay Channel challenging for the 43 paddlers who decided to make the 10 a.m. start time.

Over the course of the morning, what began as a "bump" in the ocean developed into advisory level surf with close out sets. At 11 am, the scene on the OCC beach resembled a pro surfing event on the North Shore. Many people gathered to watch the surf and the finish of the race expecting a yard sale of watercraft parts.

At the finish buoy, all participants were encouraged to paddle to the Ala Wai Boat Harbor where the OCC trailer driven by Baby Dave Rochlen was there to take them and their boats back to the Club. About half the field took this option and the other half paddled into Kaimana Beach. One way or the other everyone made it to the beach safely.

Participants gathered back at the Club for food and drink and the awards ceremony and to share wild stories about the race. Many thanks to the members who generously donated prizes for the event.

Members of the OC1/Kayak Committee are Rob Durkin, Chair, Billy Philpotts, Past-Chair; Evan Rhodes, David Fan, Bobby Hastings III, Lindsay Chang, Mike Nakano, Mark Eliashof, Chris Kincaid, Kala Judd and Bill Meheula.