Large Crowd Is Expected At Fifth Annual Surfboard Program Tomorrow

Many Records Are Due To Be Broken; Large Entry List In Every Event; Programs Will Be Passed To Fans; No Admission Is Made To New Year's Morning Program

All roads will point to the Wai-kiki canal tomorrow morning and if the big interest keeps up, more roads will be needed to take care of the large crowd anticipated in the fifth annual New Year's Day surfboard paddling program which starts at 9:30 sharp. No admission is charged. Programs will be issued.

Beatrice Newport. Quarter-Mile I Mickey Carmichae Ham Craw, M. Program Mickey Carmichae Hollinger, H. Orne D. Kaupiko, Sam Nawai, Sergent E Kiakona, Kenneth port.

A record entry list has been re-

ceived by the committee in charge

and every record is expected to go

by the boards. The annual program is being staged by the Shell Co. of California under the direction of the Outrigger Canoe club and Dawkins, Benny.

Beatrice Newport, present quarter-mile woman champion, is aiming to reduce her old record of minutes 49 1-5 seconds, made in

1926.

In the 100-yard men's open event, Champion T. Kiakona, paddling under the Hui Nalu colors, will endeavor to maintain his place as Hawaii's fastest 100-yard paddler, and to lower his own record of 40 1-5 seconds for the event, which he made last year.

Following is the complete entry list: Half-Mile Men's Open—H. Bahr, J. Hollinger, H. Ornellas, Fred Paoa, J. D. Kaupiko, Sam Kahanamoku, T. G. Kiakona, Kenneth J. Pratt and Buster Crabbe.

Quarter-Mile Women's Open-Tony Bahr, Rose Hope, Mildred Slaght and Beatrice Newport.

Quarter-Mile Boys Under 18—
Mickey Carmichael, Jacob Ing, Willlam Craw, M. Paoa, P. Spohler, N.

Newport, W. Newport. 100-Yard Men's Open-H. Bahr, Mickey Carmichael, Gay Harris, J. Hollinger, H. Ornellas, Fred Paoa, J. D. Kaupiko, Sam Kahanamoku, Sam Nawai, Sergent Kahanamoku, T. G.

Klakona, Kenneth J. Pratt, W. New-

port.

160-Yard Men Over 30-Robert Askew, J. Hollinger, Bill Kahanamoku. 220-Yard Girls' Novice-Lorretta Gillespie, Lorena Hines, Olga Clarke, Marieta Schafsma.

220-Yard Boys Under 16—Richard Bechert, Wilbur Craw, Mickey Carmichael, Bill Hodgins, M. Paoa, Charles Hogan, David Harvey, George Hogan.

Three-Quarter Mile Club Relay, Men (6 men each paddling 220 yards) —Outrigger Canoe club: H. Bahr, Mickey Carmichael, Gay Harris, Wilbur Craw, Kenneth J. Pratt, N. Newport, W. Newport, A. E. Minvielle, Jr., Buster Crabbe.

Hui Nalu-J. Hollinger, H. Ornellas, Fred Paoa, M. Paoa, J. D. Kaupiko, Sam Kahanamoku, Sam Nawai, eSrgeant Kahanamoku, T. G. Kiakona, P. Spohler. The Officials

The officials in charge are: General committee, C. G. Benny, chairman; George "Dad" Center and G. E. Cherry.

Starter, "Pop" Phaender; announcer, Adam Ornellas; timers, "Bill" Mc-Lean, A. Pratte, A. H. Myhre, Robert Ely; judges, R. J. Thomas, T. R. Waters, A. E. Minvielle, Sr.; records, Vasco Rosa; equipment, F. M. Logan,